Work and Family Researchers Network Virtual Conference Series
January 11, 2024 - January 11, 2024
Virtual

Work-Family Perspectives on Low Fertility in East Asia

Dates/Times:

  • GMT/London – Fri, Jan 12, Midnight.
  • New York, USA – Thu, Jan 11, 2024 at 7:00 pm EST
  • Los Angeles, USA – Thu, Jan 11, 2024 at 4:00 pm PST
  • Honolulu, USA – Thu, Jan 11, 2024 at 2:00 pm HST
  • Shanghai, China – Fri, Jan 12, 2024 at 8:00 am CST
  • Seoul, South Korea – Fri, Jan 12, 2024 at 9:00 am KST

Check the time in your country/region by following this link: https://www.worldtimebuddy.com/

Organizers/Presiders

  • Jennifer Hook, Professor of Sociology, University of Southern California, USA and WFRN Vice President
  • Jaeseung Kim, Assistant Professor of Social Welfare, Sungkyunkwan University, South Korea and WFRN Board Member

Moderator

  • Jaeseung Kim, Assistant Professor of Social Welfare, Sungkyunkwan University, South Korea and WFRN Board Member

Panelists

  • Mary Brinton, Reischauer Institute Professor of Sociology, Harvard University, USA
  • Yen-hsin Alice Cheng, Professor/Research Fellow of Sociology, Academia Sinica, Taiwan
  • Yingchun Ji, Professor of Sociology, Shanghai University, China
  • Eunsil Oh, Assistant Professor of Sociology and Asian Languages and Cultures, University of Wisconsin-Madison, USA

The Event

This WFRN Virtual Conference Series panel session will focus on using work-family perspectives to understand low fertility rates in East Asian countries, covering topics including cultural and economic factors, policy approaches, and similarities and differences between countries. Expert panelists will share their initial thoughts on this topic, and then engage in a moderated panel discussion. Following the panel discussion, the conversation will open to questions and comments from event participants. This event is free and open to the public. Registration is required.

Registration Information:

Click here to register for the event