WFRN Virtual Conference Series: Advancing Equality at Work and Home
March 12, 2021 - March 12, 2021
Virtual Via Zoom
N/A

Virtual Conference Live Sessions

March 12th

Americas-friendly timing

 

Part A Simultaneous Sessions:

3:00pm to 4:15pm GMT

(10:00am-11:15am New York; 3:00pm-4:15pm London; 12:00am-1:15am Tokyo)

 

8.2. Workshop: Ipums Time Use: Using the Leave Module to Study Work-Family Balance 

Organizers: Liana C. Sayer, University of Maryland; Sarah Flood, University of Minnesota 

  • Overview of Ipums Time Use ArchivesSarah Flood — University of Minnesota
  • Using the Leave and Job Flexibilities Module in Ipums Time UseLiana C. Sayer — University of Maryland

8.3. Multi-paper session:  Parental Employment and Child Wellbeing  

  • Mothers’ Work Schedules and Children’s Time with ParentsAlejandra Ros Pilarz — University of Wisconsin, Madison, Leah Awkward-Rich — University of Wisconsin, Madison
  • The Effects of Parental Employment Instability on American Children, 1996-2013Yixia Cai — University of Wisconsin, Madison
  • Commuting Parents and their Children: Are there Negative Effects on Child Well-Being?Sonja Drobnic — University of Bremen, Germany, Christine Borowsky — University of Bremen, Michael Feldhaus — University of Oldenburg
  • Which Dads are Involved? Exploring Paternal Involvement in Childcare from Nine Months to Seven Years Post-BirthHelen Norman — University of Leeds

8.4.  Multi-paper session:  New Perspectives on Smoothing Transitions across Work, Family, and Community  

  • Creating Harmony across work, family and community: Exploration from an immigrants’ perspectiveUthpala Senarathne Tennakoon — Mount Royal University, Rukshan Tennakoon — Zone R&U Inc.
  • Exploring the intersection of transitions to managerial and parenting rolesTracy Hecht — Concordia University, Elizabeth Eley — Concordia University, Kathleen Boies — Concordia University
  • Working from Home and Worker Wellbeing: New Evidence from GermanyDuanyi Yang —Cornell University, Erin L. Kelly — Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Laura Kubzansky — Harvard University, Lisa Berkman — Harvard University
  • Flexibility Fatigue: What is it and How to Avoid itZoe Young — Half the Sky

 

Part B Simultaneous Sessions

4:30 to 5:45pm GMT

(11:30am–12:45pm New York; 4:30pm-5:45pm London; 1:30am-2:45am on March 13th Tokyo)

8.5. Workshop: Coaching Working Parents through Parental Leave and Beyond  

Panelists:

  • Spela Trefalt — Simmons School of Business
  • Amy Beacom — Center for Parental Leave Leadership
  • Scott Joseph Behson — Fairleigh Dickinson University
  • Jessica DeGroot — ThirdPath Institute
  • Teresa Hopke — Talking Talent
  • Deanna Siegel Senior — DSS Advisor
  • Alyssa Westring — DePaul University

8.6. Symposium: Interconnections of Workplace Leave and Flexibility with Daily Time Use & Well-Being 

Organizers: Liana C. Sayer, University of Maryland; Sarah Flood, University of Minnesota 

  • Does Part-Time Work Offer Flexibility to Employed Mothers?Liana Christin Landivar — Women’s Bureau, U.S. Department of Labor, Rose Woods — Bureau of Labor Statistics, Gretchen M. Livingston—Women’s Bureau, U.S. Department of Labor
  • Disability, Flexible Work Policies, and Daily Time Use. Carrie Shandra, Stonybrook UniversityCarrie Shandra — State University of New York at Stony Brook
  • Influence of Workplace Temporal Conditions on Gendered Parental Care TimeYue Qian — University of British Columbia, Liana C. Sayer — University of Maryland

8.8. Multi-paper session: Couples: Work and Family Challenges and Possibilities for Improvement 

  • Work-family decision making at the transition to parenthood: why aren’t couples discussing one of the most important decisions of their lives? Clare Stovell — Oxford Brookes University, David Collision — Lancaster University, Caroline Gatrell — University of Liverpool, Laura Suzanne Radcliffe — University of Liverpool
  • Frequency of Change in Employment Status Among Partners of National Guard Members Throughout the Cycle of Deployment: An Exploratory AnalysisKenona Southwell — Eagle Technologies Inc., Haslyn Hunte — Eagle Technologies, Inc., David Topp — Purdue University, Shelley MacDermid Wadsworth — Purdue University
  • Effects of a Workplace Intervention on Couple Health and Well-Being OutcomesLeslie Hammer — Portland State University, Krista Brockwood — Senior Research Associate, Oregon Health and Science University, Jacqueline Brady — Portland State University, Cynthia Mohr — Portland State University