WFRN Virtual Conference Series: Advancing Equality at Work and Home
-
Virtual Via Zoom

Virtual Conference Live Sessions

February 12th

Greetings!

This is a reminder that the next WFRN Virtual Conference Live Event is scheduled to occur on February 12th, 2021. Each of the sessions listed below is being offered on Zoom.  Following each session, you can engage in lively exchanges with other participants, much like you would at an in-person conference.

To access the Zoom invitations, please follow this link to the password restricted program (accessible only to conference registrants).

http://wfrn.org/wp-content/uploads/2021/01/VCS-2020-Program-Private-1-11-21-mo.pdf

Use the password sent to you via email. If you have not received the password, please email wfrnet@gmail.com 

 

Or, you can Sign-up here! and we’ll email you a reminder two days (and two hours) before the event that contains all the Zoom links.

 

See you there!

Susan Lambert, WFRN President

 

WFRN Live Sessions, February 12th, 2021

Europe/Africa-friendly timing

 Part A Simultaneous Sessions:

10:00am-11:15am GMT

(5:00am-6:15am New York; 10:00am-11:15am London; 7:00pm-8:15pm Tokyo)

 

7.1.  Multi-paper session: Marginalized Women and the New Realities of Work and Family 

  • Women’s Self Employment in the UK: What Part do Mumpreneurship, Precarious and Low-Paid Work, and Partners Play?Shireen Kanji — Brunel University London
  • As Women are Changing to be More like Men in the Transportation Industry in Nigeria, are Their Men Changing to be More like Women at Home? Mariam Gbajumo-Sheriff — University of Lagos
  • Consequences of Divorce on Women’s Employment Activity in Non-Egalitarian Societies: The Case of Palestinian Women in IsraelMaha Sabbah — University of Haifa & Truman Institute, The Hebrew University
  • The Paradox of the Czech Gender Regime and its Implications for Gender Inequalities in the Old AgeAlena Krížková — Institute of Sociology, Czech Academy of Sciences

7.2. Multi-paper session:  Gender, Work Hours, and Work-Family Commitments  

  • Rethinking Work Time: Gender, Parenthood, and the Temporal Constellations of Work Schedules in a Cross-National Context Yang Hu — Lancaster University, Wen Fan — Boston College, Deniz Yucel — William Paterson University of New Jersey
  • Men’s Reduction of Working Hours for Family Reasons: Workplace Facilitators and Constraints to Working Time AdjustmentsLaura Luekemann — Bielefeld University, Anja-Kristin Abendroth — Bielefeld University
  • Fatherhood forfeits and the fu** it fathersJasmine Kelland — Plymouth University
  • Highly Skilled Professionals’ Work Mobility in Relation to Family Concerns: Strategies and Endeavours for Work-Family Balance.Katarzyna Wolanik Boström — Umea University, Gert-Olof Boström — Umea University

 

Part B Session

11:30am-12:45pm GMT

(6:30am-7:45am New York; 11:30am-12:45pm London; 8:30pm-9:45pm Tokyo)

 7.3. Multi-paper session:  Humanity, Work, and Family: How What We Think and Do Matters for Ourselves and Others 

  • Visions of Good Work and Family Life in a City of the Cold Swedish North. Storytelling of a real estate company.Gert-Olof Boström — Umea University, Katarzyna Wolanik Boström — Umea University
  • Does it Matter Who You are Working With? The Composition of the Direct Working Group as a Moderator in Parents’ Experience of Work-Family ConflictFlorian Schulz — State Institute for Family Research (ifb) at the University of Bamberg, Germany, Mareike Reimann — Bielefeld University