WFRN Virtual Conference Day
September 30, 2022 - September 30, 2022
Virtual Via Zoom
N/A

Virtual Conference Day

September 30, 2022, 8:00am – 12:00pm Eastern Daylight Time

(8:00am-12:00pm New York, US; 1:00pm-5:00pm London, UK; 5:30pm-9:30pm New Delhi, India; 8:00pm -12:00am Shanghai, China)

***SPECIAL EVENT OPEN TO THE PUBLIC***

This special Virtual Conference Series event moves our in-person conference online for a day! We will have three panels featuring flash-talk sessions on key work-family topics. Following the panel presentations, the conversation will open to questions and comments from event participants. This event is free and open to the public. Registration is required.

Organizers/Presiders:

  • Sarah Damaske, Ph.D., Professor of Sociology, Labor & Employment Relations, Pennsylvania State University and WFRN Vice President
  • Richard Petts, Ph.D., Professor of Sociology, Ball State University

Program

Work Family Balance and Policies Across the Globe

8:00am Eastern Daylight Time

  • Reena Shah – Antecedents and Effects of Work-Life Balance among Indian Professionals
  • Tanuj Negi &  Rajwinder Kaur – Predictive Value of Life and Work Antecedents on Work-Life Balance among Indian Professionals
  • Birgit Pfau-Effinger – Theorizing the Role of Culture and Family Policy for Women’s Work-Childcare Behaviour
  • Kai Sun – Work Family Balance of First-time Urban Chinese Mothers and Fathers in Shanghai
  • Beatriz Millán Jara – A Gender Perspective on Successful STEM ventures, The case of Chile

Parenting, Parental Leave, and Unions: Their Antecedents and Effects

9:30am Eastern Daylight Time

  • Constanza Hurtado-Acuna – Racial and Ethnic Disparities in the Association Between Women’s Employment and First Union Formation
  • Julia Goodman – Work as a Social Risk Factor in Pregnancy: Focus Groups Examining Screening Practices Related to Working Conditions and Family Leave
  • Merve Uzunalioglu – Competing Powers: What Matters for the Timing and Duration of Fathers’ Parental Leave
  • Aziz Mensah – Working Hours, Sleep Disturbance and Self-Reported Health in Men and Women: A Multilevel Analysis of 30 Countries in Europe
  • Deniz Yucel – Work-Family Boundary Permeability and Parent-Child Relationship

The Covid Pandemic and Work-Family Challenges

11:00am Eastern Daylight Time

  • Maike Philipsen – Immunities to Change: What COVID Taught Us About Work-Life Integration
  • Beãta Nagy – The Role of Technology in Shaping the Gender Gap: Paid Work and Care Work of Men and Women Working from Home During the Pandemic
  • Samantha Ammons & Krista Lynn Minnotte – Attempting (and Failing) to Live up to the Ideal Worker Norm: Faculty Parents at Two Universities During COVID-19
  • Amy Lucas – Parenting in the Pandemic: Lack of Balance and Plenty of Guilt

To register for the event, please click here or follow this link:

https://www.eventbrite.com/e/wfrn-virtual-conference-day-tickets-416685135457

 We hope to see you there!