Call for 2020 Nominations – The Ellen Galinsky Generative Researcher Award

This award recognizes a work-family researcher or research team who have/has contributed break-through thinking to the work-family field via theory, measures, and/or data sets that led to expansive application, innovation, and diffusion, including the sharing of research opportunity in the spirit of open science.


Recipients receive a framed award certificate and a check for $1000.

Nomination Deadline

Submit nomination to committee chair Amy Wharton no later than January 15, 2020.


Nominees must be WFRN members in the year the award will be made.

Nomination Procedure

Self nominations are accepted, as are nominations on behalf of nominees.

Nominations are directed to the committee chair Amy Wharton

Nominations include the following:

  • A nomination letter – no longer than 5 single spaced pages – that includes the following as separate sections:
    • Summary of theory, measures or data sets that warrant recognition
    • Summary of breakthroughs that resulted from these theories, measures or data sets
    • Summary of diffusion that transcends collaboration
  • Nominee’s vitae.

Committee Structure

The committee is composed of 3-4 WFRN members, identified by the Executive Officer and approved by the Executive Committee. The committee is established by April 1 of the non-conference year.

Selection Procedure

Recipients are selected on the following criteria:

  • Magnitude of breakthrough thinking via theory, measures or data sets
  • Extent that contributions led to application, innovation and diffusion
  • Extent that nominee shared opportunity in the spirit of open science

Award Selection Schedule

  • Executive Officer posts calls for nominations and applications – June 1, September 1, and November 1 non-conference year.
  • Nominations and application deadline – January 15 conference year.
  • Committee advances recommendations to Executive Committee – March 15 conference year.
  • Committee recommends (if needed) adjustments to the award procedures to Executive Committee – March 15 conference year.
  • Award Committee chair notifies recipient – April 15 conference year
  • Award is presented in advance of presidential plenary – June conference year

Awards Committee – 2020

  • Aixa Cintron-Velez, Program Director, Russel Sage Foundation
  • Ryan Johnson, Assistant Professor Psychology, Ohio University
  • Ujvala Rajadhyaksha, Associate Professor Business and Management, Governors State University
  • Amy Wharton, Professor Sociology, Washington State University (Chair)

Prior Award Recipients

2018, Jeffrey Greenhaus and Gary Powell